2016 Clarion Winners Announced

2016 Queensland Clarion Award winners announced

The Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance (MEAA), the union and industry advocate for Australia’s journalists, has announced the winners of the 2016 Queensland Clarion Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The winners were revealed on Saturday night September 10, at a gala dinner for 300 guests in the Boulevard Room of the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, hosted by Carly Egan of the Seven Network and Sean Parnell of The Australian.

The Clarion Awards, administered by MEAA, recognise excellence in Queensland journalism across a range of categories.

The 2016 Queensland Journalist of Year is the Sarah Elks of The Australian who won the Clarions for All Media – Business Journalism and All Media – Investigative Journalism.

MEAA congratulates all the Clarion Award winners in what has been a standout year for excellent Queensland journalism. The full list of the 2016 winner of Clarion Awards appears below. 

For more information, contact Anna Magnus on 0423 363 725.

2016 Queensland Clarion Award Winners

All Media - Business Journalism              

Sponsored by Brisbane Airport Corporation

  • Sarah Elks, The Australian, Unmasking Terry Smith

All Media - Commentary, Analysis, Opinion & Critique

Sponsored by Three Plus Pty Ltd

  • Mark Ludlow, Fairfax Media/The Australian Financial Review, Lunch with The AFR & more

All Media - Health and Wellness            

Sponsored by Diabetes Queensland      

  • Janelle Miles, The Courier-Mail, News Ltd , Gift of Love

All Media - Broadcast Interview              

Sponsored by Queensland Police Union

  • Kay McGrath & Paula Doneman , 7 News, Terry Lewis's Last Card

All Media - Indigenous Issues Reporting             

Sponsored by Queensland Council of Unions

  • Brian Bennion, APN News and Media/The Queensland Times, Is Nothing Sacred? - Deebing Creek Mission

All Media - Most Outstanding Journalism Student

Sponsored by Media Super

  • Joseph  Ogilvie, Queensland University of Technology, Body of Work

All Media - Multicultural Queensland Award

  • Leisa Scott, News Corp, The Road Ahead

All Media - Rural Journalism     

Sponsored by Rural Press Club

  • Kirstin Murray, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Baby Cash

All Media - Social Issues Reporting        

Sponsored by Network Ten

  • Heidi Davoren, Matthew Liddy, Lucy Fahey, Ben Spraggon & Colin Gourlay, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, These women are not just statistics

All Media - Sports Journalism

  • Nance Haxton, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Why are boxers dying in Queensland?

All Media - New Journalist of the Year

Sponsored by QLD Parliamentary Media Gallery               

  • Rhian Deutrom, News Corp, Body of Work

All Media - Investigative Journalism                     

Sponsored by Watpac

  • Sarah Elks, The Australian, Unmasking Terry Smith

All Media – Freelance Journalism

  • Andrew McMillen, Various , Body of work

All Media - Multimedia Journalism        

  • Tim Leslie, Will   Ockenden, Simon Elvery, & Colin Gourlay, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, What your metadata reveals about you

All Media – Cartoon Illustration or Graphic

  • Tony Bela, The Courier-Mail, Game of Toads

Photography - News Photograph- Metropolitan              

  • Luke Marsden, The Courier-Mail/ The Sunday Mail, Kindergarten Cops

Photography - Photographic Essay

  • Liam Kidston, News Corp, Beirut Bungle

Photography - Sports Photography

  • Luke Marsden, The Courier-Mail, Capsize 

Print/Text - Feature Article

Sponsored by Local Government Association of Queensland      

  • Kate Kyriacou, The Courier-Mail/Sunday Mail, Ravenshoe - the untold story

Print/Text - News Report            

Sponsored by Chanel Nine Brisbane       

  • Kate Kyriacou, The Courier-Mail/Sunday Mail, Five hours to catch a killer

Print /Text - Best Three Headings

Sponsored by Seven Network Brisbane               

  • Baz McAlister, News Corp, Threat Level: Hilux   

Radio - Current Affairs, Feature Documentary or Special             

  • Elly Bradfield, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, St George's ice struggle

Radio - News Report     

  • Isobel Roe, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Oakey contamination scare

Regional & Community – Print/ Text: News Report

Sponsored by Ipswich City Council

  • Grace Mason (nee Uhr) ,The Cairns Post, Member Exposed

Regional & Community - Broadcast Report

  • Elly Bradfield, ABC Southern Queensland, St George's ice struggle

Regional & Community - Print /Text: Feature Article or Opinion:

Sponsored by Council on the Ageing (COTA)

  • Vani Naidoo, APN Australian Regional Media, Pucker up for progress, Giving the homeless hope,& Laying cancer bare

Regional & Community - News Photograph

  • Glenn Hampson, Gold Coast, Bulletin Pot of Gold

Television - Current Affairs, Feature Documentary

Sponsored by Queensland Police Union               

  • Mark Willacy & Ben Hawke, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Into the Zone

Television - The John Bean Award for News and Current Affairs Camerawork

Sponsored by Australian Broadcasting Corporation

  • Luke Dorrington, Seven Network, North Queensland Drought

Television News Report

Sponsored by QUT Creative Industries

  • Darren Curtis, Nine Network, Jakarta Bombing

Most Outstanding Contribution to Journalism  

Sponsored by The University of Queensland


  • Kay McGrath, Seven Network

2016 Queensland Journalist of the year           

Sponsored by Griffith University


  • Sarah Elks, The Australian